Now Reading
13 Thrilling Books Like ‘The Silent Patient’

13 Thrilling Books Like ‘The Silent Patient’

Riddhi Bhattacharya

Even in the crowded psychological thriller genre, The Silent Patient stands out. Starring a heroine that refuses to speak, a plot that methodically serves as both a character study and a masterpiece of suspense, Alex Michaelides’ fan favourite is a true original.

Books like Silent Patient

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

1. The Widow by Fiona Barton

The Widow

Fiona Barton’s The Widow, a Publishers Weekly starred pick that Stephen King calls “Engrossing. Suspenseful” tells the story of Jean, the long-suffering wife of a man that is suspected of committing a horrific crime. When she is unexpectedly widowed, she is finally free to tell her side of the story. Or is she? Like The Silent Patient, this shocking novel reminds us that things are not always as they seem and neither are people!

2. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

The Thirteenth Tale

Diane Setterfield’s New York Times bestseller that USA Today calls, “Eerie and fascinating” introduces readers to Margaret, a biographer that has been asked to pen the life story of the mysterious and reclusive author, Vida Winter. What Margaret encounters is a bizarre story rife with troubling secrets, a phantom, a tragic fire, and an unruly set of twins. Just as in The Silent Patient, The Thirteenth Tale illustrates how learning one person’s story can reveal much about our own.

3. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects

Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects, a novel that has been made into an HBO series and has been called a “disturbing yet riveting tale” by People, tells the story of Camille Preaker. Like The Silent Patient’s Alicia, Camille is no stranger to institutionalization, having spent a stint in the psychiatric ward. When Camille is sent to her hometown to cover the murders of two young girls, she is flung back into her childhood existence and forced to unravel her own psychologically twisted past.

4. The Black Painting by Neil Olson

The Black Painting

The Black Painting by Neil Olson labelled “A riveting psychological thriller” by the Associated Press, is the story of a mysterious painting — a self-portrait by the famed Goya — and the secrets that it holds. When four disparate cousins are called to their grandfather’s mansion, they are shocked to find the old man’s corpse staring in terror at the very spot where the painting used to grace his wall — except, now, it is gone. Like Alicia’s self-portrait, Alcestis, Goya’s painting has an important story to tell.

5. Odd Child Out by Gilly Macmillan

Odd Child Out

Gilly MacMillan’s Odd Child Out, a book that Publishers Weekly calls “An engrossing novel,” tells the intricate tale of two teenage friends and a tragedy that befalls them. Noah has been plucked from the canal and now lies in a coma, while Abdi, a Somali refugee, refuses to speak — even though people are beginning to blame him. Much like The Silent Patient, it is this story’s gradual buildup to a shocking conclusion that hooks the reader and keeps them riveted.

6. The Boy From the Woods by Harlan Coben

The Boy From the Woods

Bestselling author, Harlan Coben, is no stranger to creating masterful thrillers and The Boy From the Woods is one of his finest. As a young boy, Wilde was found living like a wild animal in the woods — and, decades later, he still has no memory of his life before the woods or how he got there. When another child goes missing, he must revisit his deeply buried past in order to find the missing child before it’s too late. If you enjoyed uncovering Alicia’s secrets, you will be truly fascinated by Wilde.

7. The Whisper Man by Alex North

The Whisper Man

A serial killer dubbed “The Whisper Man” stalked the village of Featherbank several years ago, abducting and murdering five people. That was twenty years ago, and it stopped when Frank Carter was caught and imprisoned. Now, Tom Kennedy and his son seek refuge in the small community, and are horrified with the rest of the community when another boy vanishes… and Tom’s son starts hearing whispers at his window. Alex Michaelides himself calls The Whisper Man, “The most unsettling thriller I have read since Jo Nesbo’s The Snowman.”

8. Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

Behind Closed Doors

As Michaelides penned The Silent Patient, he stated, “It was clear in my mind that Alicia was surrounded by these men who were imprisoning her” — and Alicia helped to keep up this facade. B.A. Paris’ Behind Closed Doors introduces readers to Jack and Grace, the neighbourhood’s dream couple — rich, polished, and extremely likeable. But if you look closely, you will see there are cracks in this facade and that what lies beneath all the glitz and glamour is truly sinister.

9. The Couple on Cedar Close by Anna-Lou Weatherley

The Couple on Cedar Close

The Silent Patient’s Gabriel and Alicia seemingly had it all — success, fame, and the perfect marriage. In The Couple on Cedar Close, Laurie is the envy of many, with a beautiful home in a sought-after neighbourhood and a dashing husband with a lucrative career. But then her husband is found murdered in their home, and Laurie becomes the number one suspect. Readers can expect a rollercoaster of shocking revelations and jarring turns.

10. I See You by Clare Mackintosh

I See You

Bestselling author Ruth Ware calls this novel, “A deliciously creepy tale of urban paranoia,” and for good reason. I See You’s Zoe is a creature of habit, following a predictable daily routine like clockwork. But her life is turned upside down when she finds her own face posted on a classified advertisement. Thrust into a terrifying game of cat and mouse — she discovers that everyone else from these ads has been murdered.

11. The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window

As The Silent Patient shows, there is something inherently fascinating about a cloistered protagonist — and A.J. Finn’s Anna Fox is no exception. An alcoholic agoraphobic who spends her days watching old films and keeping tabs on her neighbourhood, Anna finds the residents of her New York City street fascinating. But when she witnesses a horrible act of violence, her whole world comes into
question — and both her sanity and her very life are put in jeopardy.

12. The Last Mrs Parrish by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs Parrish

The Silent Patient’s Alicia has secrets to keep — and so do Liv Constantine’s Daphne and Amber, the stars of this Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick. Neither is what they seem — and one of them is evil. Amber has her sites on Daphne’s life, desperately wanting her handsome husband, her beautiful daughters, and her luxurious lifestyle — but Daphne has secrets. And, by simply keeping her lips sealed, she unleashes life-altering events that will change the worlds of both of these women forever.

13. The Wife Between Us by Sarah Pekkanen and Greer Hendricks

The Wife Between Us

Alex Michaelides’ masterpiece teaches us to never make assumptions based on what you read, and theNew York Times bestseller The Wife Between Us echoes this lesson. Vanessa has begun stalking her ex-husband Richard’s young fiancee, Nellie, and is determined to prevent their upcoming wedding from taking place. But scratch the surface a little deeper and you will discover that things are not as they seem, especially in this clever, ever-shifting story and equally astonishing conclusion.

Let us know in the comment section below your reviews on The Silent Patient or any of the books listed above or let us know if you have any other similar books! Feel free to connect with me on Goodreads if you would like to discuss anything about books!

You can read more articles by Riddhi Bhattacharya!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

See Also

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

While this title is unique, there are several books like The Silent Patient that fans of the novel should like, with twisty plotlines, a riveting silent character, or a vengeful scorned character. If Michaelides’ famous novel is among your favourites, here are 13 books like The Silent Patient that will make excellent additions to your library. I have also added Amazon Kindle links for all books, hopefully, that helps!

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top